City Council

Welcome to City Council

The Newark City Council consists of ten council members; three At-Large and one from each of seven wards. Council members are elected to 4-year terms. The ward elections alternate with the at-large elections. Council members are paid a stipend of $8,076/year for their service.

Council Meetings

Regular session meetings are held at 40 W. Main St., City Hall Council Chambers, 1st Floor on the 1st & 3rd Mondays of every month, except for Monday holidays (moved to Tuesday). Meetings start at 7:00 p.m.

The public is welcome to all meetings. Your input is important, and you are encouraged to contact your ward councilperson or any at-large councilperson to discuss issues of interest to you. Agendas are posted on the website by Thursday before the meeting; minutes are posted after the meetings.

For archived/prior year minutes a public records request can be made to the Clerk of Council at

2023 Meeting Calendar and Deadlines

City Council Calendar

City Council Members


Don Ellington

1611 Bryn Mawr Dr.

(740) 334-8160 (C)

(740) 366-5533 (W)

At Large(2020-2023)

Jeff Harris

24 Monroe Ave

(740) 403-0481 (C)

At Large(2022-2023)

Spencer Barker

798 Craig Pkwy.

(740) 877-1770(C)

At Large(2023-2023)

Bradley Chute

1216 Stratford Woods Dr.

(740) 344-1338


1st Ward(2022-2025)

Michael Houser

28 N. Hazelwood Ave

(740) 304-4810 (C)

2nd Ward(2022-2025)

Beth Bline

33 Summit St.

(740) 258-8659(C)

3rd Ward(2022-2025)

Jeff Rath

1685 Greer Dr. W.

(614) 893-1023 (C)

4th Ward(2022-2025)

Mark Labutis

938 W. Church St.

(740) 527-0825 (C)

5th Ward(2022-2025)

Jonathan Lang

40 W. Main Street

(740) 527-0052(C)

6th Ward(2022-2025)

Doug Marmie

317 S. Heather Dr.

(740) 366-4318 (H)

7th Ward(2022-2025)

Colton Rine

394 Clarendon St.

(740) 310-5608

Clerk of Council

Janine Paul
40 W. Main Street
(740) 670-7516 (W)

Task Force & Ad Hoc Committees

There are times when Council looks for participants to serve on task forces or ad hoc committees dealing with a single issue, such as trash removal, transit issues, charter review commission, etc. If you are interested, please contact the Clerk of Council by calling 740-670-7516.