City Council

Welcome to City Council

The Newark City Council consists of ten council members; three At-Large and one from each of seven wards. Council members are elected to 4-year terms. The ward elections alternate with the at-large elections. Council members are paid a stipend of $8,076/year for their service.

Council Meetings

Regular session meetings are held at 40 W. Main St., City Hall Council Chambers, 1st Floor on the 1st & 3rd Mondays of every month, except for Monday holidays (moved to Tuesday). Meetings start at 7:00 p.m.

The public is welcome to all meetings. Your input is important, and you are encouraged to contact your ward councilperson or any at-large councilperson to discuss issues of interest to you. Agendas are posted on the website by Thursday before the meeting; minutes are posted after the meetings.

Calendar

Nov 2022

SUN
MON
TUE
WED
THURS
FRI
SAT
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3

City Council Members

President(2020-2023)

Don Ellington

1611 Bryn Mawr Dr.

(740) 344-8160 (C)

(740) 366-5533 (W)

dellingt@newarkohio.net

At Large(2020-2023)

Jeff Harris

24 Monroe Ave

(740) 403-0481 (C)

jharris@newarkohio.net

At Large(2022-2023)

Spencer Barker

798 Craig Pkwy.

(740) 877-1770(C)

sbarker@newarkohio.net

At Large(2021-2023)

Cheri Hottinger

894 Jonathan Ln.

(740) 817-1543 (C)

cherih@newarkohio.net

1st Ward(2022-2025)

Michael Houser

28 N. Hazelwood Ave

(740) 304-4810 (C)

mhouser@newarkohio.net

2nd Ward(2022-2025)

Beth Bline

33 Summit St.

(740) 258-8659(C)

bbline@newarkohio.net

3rd Ward(2022-2025)

Jeff Rath

1685 Greer Dr. W.

(614) 893-1023 (C)

jrath@newarkohio.net

4th Ward(2022-2025)

Mark Labutis

938 W. Church St.

(740) 527-0825 (C)

mlabutis@newarkohio.net

5th Ward(2022-2025)

Jonathan Lang

40 W. Main Street

(740) 527-0052(C)

jlang@newarkohio.net

6th Ward(2022-2025)

Doug Marmie

317 S. Heather Dr.

(740) 366-4318 (H)

dmarmie@newarkohio.net

7th Ward(2022-2025)

Colton Rine

394 Clarendon St.

(740) 310-5608

crine@newarkohio.net

Clerk of Council

Janine Paul
40 W. Main Street
(740) 670-7516 (W)
janinep@newarkohio.net

Task Force & Ad Hoc Committees

There are times when Council looks for participants to serve on task forces or ad hoc committees dealing with a single issue, such as trash removal, transit issues, charter review commission, etc. If you are interested, please contact the Clerk of Council by calling 740-670-7516.