City Council

Welcome to City Council

The Newark City Council consists of ten council members; three At-Large and one from each of seven wards. Council members are elected to 4-year terms. The ward elections alternate with the at-large elections. Council members are paid a stipend of $9,217.52/year for their service.

Council Meetings

Regular session meetings are held at 40 W. Main St., City Hall Council Chambers, 1st Floor on the 1st & 3rd Mondays of every month, except for Monday holidays (moved to Tuesday). Meetings start at 7:00 p.m.

The public is welcome to all meetings. Your input is important, and you are encouraged to contact your ward councilperson or any at-large councilperson to discuss issues of interest to you. Agendas are posted on the website by Thursday before the meeting; minutes are posted after the meetings.

For archived/prior year minutes a public records request can be made to the Clerk of Council at janinep@newarkohio.net

2024 Meeting Calendar and Deadlines

City Council Calendar

City Council Members

President(2024-2027)

Jeff Harris

24 Monroe Ave.

(740) 403-0481(C)

jharris@newarkohio.net

At Large(2024-2027)

Dustin Neely

2203 Horns Hill Rd.

(740) 877-8489 (C)

dneely@newarkohio.net

At Large(2024-2027)

Bill Cost Jr.

Newark Commerce Center 
195  Union St Suite B2D

(740) 403-8625

bcostjr@newarkohio.net

At Large(2024-2027)

Bradley Chute

1216 Stratford Woods Dr.

(740) 344-1338

bchute@newarkohio.net

1st Ward(2022-2025)

Michael Houser

28 N. Hazelwood Ave

(740) 304-4810 (C)

mhouser@newarkohio.net

2nd Ward(2022-2025)

Beth Bline

33 Summit St.

(740) 258-8659(C)

bbline@newarkohio.net

3rd Ward(2022-2025)

Jeff Rath

1685 Greer Dr. W.

(614) 893-1023 (C)

jrath@newarkohio.net

4th Ward(2022-2025)

Mark Labutis

938 W. Church St.

(740) 527-0825 (C)

mlabutis@newarkohio.net

5th Ward(2022-2025)

Jonathan Lang

40 W. Main Street

(740) 527-0052(C)

jlang@newarkohio.net

6th Ward(2022-2025)

Doug Marmie

317 S. Heather Dr.

(740) 366-4318 (H)

dmarmie@newarkohio.net

7th Ward(2022-2025)

Colton Rine

394 Clarendon St.

(740) 771-0154 (C)

crine@newarkohio.net

Clerk of Council

Janine Paul
40 W. Main Street
(740) 670-7516 (W)
janinep@newarkohio.net

Task Force & Ad Hoc Committees

There are times when Council looks for participants to serve on task forces or ad hoc committees dealing with a single issue, such as trash removal, transit issues, charter review commission, etc. If you are interested, please contact the Clerk of Council by calling 740-670-7516.

Verified by MonsterInsights