Finance Committee Minutes

Honorable Council City of Newark, Ohio February 11, 2014

The Finance Committee met in Council Chambers on Monday February 10, 2014 following the Personnel Committee with these members in attendance:

Jeremy Blake, Chair	Carol Floyd
Doug Marmie	Bill Cost Jr.
Ryan Bubb	

1. **Resolution No. 14-09** authorizing and directing the Fire Chief of the City of Newark to submit an application to the Licking Memorial Health Foundation for a 12-lead EKG grant was consider.

Safety Director- as we know Licking Memorial Hospital donates a lot to our safety forces and once again they realize the need. These pieces deal with the cardiac events that we have in our community and they are expensive. The previous service provider is outdating the current models so we desperately need the help that Licking Memorial is offering. I would ask as a courtesy that you expedite the process as those funds are limited I would like to get us up there first in line.

Motion by Mr. Bubb to send to full Council, second by Mrs. Floyd Mr. Blake- when you say expedite you mean to waive the second reading since there is a March deadline. Director Spurgeon- yes if you would please

Motion passed by a 5-0 vote

2. **Resolution No. 14-13** appropriating monies for the current expenses of the municipal corporation was considered.

a) A request for an appropriation of the unappropriated balance of the 671, Landfill Reclaimation Fund, in the amount of \$204,237.02 (Appropriate unused funds from 2013 note sale, to be used for payment of original construction items, payment of change order items due to erosion issues)

Account	Description	Amount
671.169.5502	Land Improvements- Landfill	\$204,237.02

John Trujillo- I am the Storm Water Coordinator for the City, I am speaking for Brian since he had to go out of town this evening. This is an appropriation of monies from a note that was sold last year in 2013. That is part of our budget for the landfill work that we do.

Motion by Mr. Bubb to send to full Council, second by Mr. Cost Motion passed by 5-0 vote.

Jeremy Blake, Chair